Mworia slams Azimio biased EALA nominations


Former Isiolo North Parliamentary aspirant Lucy Mworia with Azimio leaders led by Raila Odinga

Isiolo: 10th November, 2022: Former Isiolo North MP aspirant and past Ms. President contestant Lucy Mworia has slammed the Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Coalition member parties over bias in the nomination of names proposed yesterday to take up the positions in the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA)

Mworia said that the nominations were not only biased but unethical noting that it was wrong in the first place for party leaders to  nominate their relatives to positions given to the party at the expense of other party members who have worked hard to campaign for the parties and coalitions

“It is shameful, unethical and out rightly wrong for party leaders who we respect so much to nominate their relatives to these positions and leave out the foot soldiers who fought hard for their election at the general elections,” Mworia said.

“When will Azimio embrace true democracy and stop being driven like a personal vehicle? When will they think of a son or daughter of an unknown father or mother? These nominations are in very bad taste and I call on the National Assembly to do what is right for Kenyans. Please vote for other nominees but not relatives of party bosses. This will be a very good gesture from the house for the common man,” Mworia said.

Isiolo county and many Kenyans widely anticipated that Azimio la Umoja One Kenya would remember Mworia’s bravery in campaigning for the coalition in Isiolo and the Meru region and how passionate she was during the campaign period traversing the vast region and country wide campaigning for Raila Odinga and Martha Karua and Azimio affiliated candidates.

In the nominations, Raila Odinga’s Orange Democratic Movement nominated six candidates among them Odinga’s daughter Winnie Odinga. The others are business man Suleiman Shahbal, Mohamed Diriye, Timothy Bosire, Beatrice Askul, and Justus Kizito. Jubilee party on the other hand nominated former MPs Kanini Kega (Kieni), Jeremiah Kioni (Ndaragwa) and Ruth Mwaniki (Kigumo).

Kenya has nine seats up for grabs at the East African Legislative Assembly. Five of the nine will go the Kenya Kwanza coalition while four will go to the Azimio la Umoja coalition.

From the four ODM is expected to have two seats while other affiliate parties; Jubilee and Wiper will each get a seat.


Mworia slams Azimio biased EALA nominations

Write a comment below

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*